Day 55 – A Year of Stitches 2017

February 24, 2017

Filling in a few Easter eggs on my hoop today.

Earlier this morning, I ran out to my local needlework shop to pick up some silk thread to finish a Shepherd’s Bush kit I unearthed when searching my stash.  I obviously used a whole lot more dark tan than I was suppose to use, or lost it after 15+ years in between starting the piece and finding it and finishing!  What made it fun was the numbers changed since the chart was printed, so I needed to match colors…I was soooo happy I brought the piece with me to the shop.  While I was waiting for help, I browsed the racks and found velvet thread!!  One of the ladies I follow on Instagram did french knots on her hoop using a cream velvet thread.  The velvet thread added a wonderful texture to the work, but I did not know where to find it….They had it!!  I picked up two cards in pink and orange hues.  I used the pink today.  The velvet does look wonderful….

I used two leftover pieces of the DMC Color Variations cotton embroidery floss and my new card of Very Velvet.  I don’t know for sure what the colors are for the DMC, but I have used them before during this year.

Day 55:

Stitch:  French Knots in first egg on the left, Satin Stitch for second egg, Straight Stitch for third egg

Fiber:  First two filled eggs, DMC Color Variations embroidery floss in various colors, used leftovers, 2 ply used, third egg, Very Velvet fiber in V250, single ply

 

day552017

 

 

 

 

 

Save

Leave a Reply

