Day 49, Week 7, YTD– A Year of Stitches 2017

February 11, 2017 Flowers continued this week.  I added sunflower buttons from a kit I found in my needlework stash.  The buttons are by the same artist that made the crow button from last week.  I also found a bee hive, pumpkin, pilgrim’s hat, and worm from more of her kits.  These were purchased BK:  […]

February 18, 2017

This week I decided to take a break from my large hoop I have been working on.  When I decided to join this challenge, I had run across a couple of post on social media talking about a book titled  “Boho Embroidery.”  I purchased this book and decided to take the plunge and try to adapt a project using the suggestions in the book.

So, this week I complete one hoop!  Today I finished up the stitching and embellishments for the design.  Later on this week I will finish fastening the fabric to the hoop and sign and date it on the back.  I love working on it, and I may try similar projects during this year of stitches.

When I went to the local needlework shop this week, I discovered one of the cotton floss companies I like also makes pearl cotton #5.  So, I used the same colors from Weeks Dye Works in two different fibers.  I picked out a dandelion flower on my base fabric and decided to highlight it with stem stitch, back stitch, and french knots.  To add a pop of colors, some of my 11/0 bead stash was added.  I am really pleased with how this picture turned out!

Day 49:

Stitch:  Stem Stitch, Back Stitch, French Knot, Straight Stitch, adding beads

Fiber:  Weeks Dye Works cotton embroidery floss and pearl cotton #5 in Whitewashed, used two ply for back stitch and straight stitch, one ply for attaching beads, Sampler Threads from The Gentle Art in Butternut Squash, two ply used for french knots, 11/0  Czech Glass seed beads in Dark Coral Luster

Year to Day Ending February 18, 2017 – Week 7

 

ytdweek72017a

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

