Week One for 1 Year of Stitches 2017

 

I am not sure why I did this, but this week I decided to join a FB group for embroidery.  When I asked the ladies at the local food pantry I volunteer at if I should join a group reading a book a week for 2017 or embroidering daily for the new year, they said “Sew!”

This is a great excuse to add to my hobby list….I currently have a sewing machine in my dining room, jewelry making components spread throughout the house, and also have a family to get through the day.  Call me crazy!

I have always enjoyed cross stitch and working on linen, but I have not seriously embroidered since college, and I have never done it without a pattern or chart.  This will be a chance for me to explore my own creativity and think outside the box.  I plan to take pictures and describe my materials throughout this process.  Hopefully having this blog will keep me accountable.

Jumping off point:

I started out by selecting fabric for this project.  I have plenty of material lying around, but I have some leftover linen I used for a long past elementary school costume.  After cutting off a piece, I ironed it and placed in a brand new hoop!  Most of my fibers and supplies will come from over 30 years of crafting.

Day 1:

Stitch:  Chain

Fiber:  The Thread Gatherer Hand Dyed Silk in Autumn Foliage, using 4 ply

day12017

 

Day 2:

Stitch:  Chain

Fiber:  Hand dyed cotton from mixed bag purchased from local needlework shop in Green, using 3 ply

day22017

 

Day 3:

Stitch:  Chain

Fiber:  Simply Shaker Sampler Thread from The Gentle Art in Green Apple, using 3 ply

day32017

 

Day 4:

Stitch:  Satin

Fiber:  Hand dyed cotton from mixed bag purchased from local needlework shop in light Blue, using 3 ply

day42017

 

Day 5:

Stitch:  Satin

Fiber:  Weeks Dye Works hand dyed cotton floss in Onyx, using 3 ply

day52017

 

Day 6:

Stitch:  Adding embellishments, no specific stitch

Fiber:  Balger Blending Filament in Cable, Gold and Christopher Metallic in a pearl white (over 20 years old, label unclear)

Additional accents:  CzechMates QuadraLentil in Matte Metallic Flax and Crystal AB (used for beading)

day62017

 

Day 7:

Stitch:  Fly, adding additional embellishments

Fiber:  Sampler Threads from The Gentle Art in Burnt Orange, using 2 ply, and Christopher Metallic in a pearl white (over 20 years old, label unclear)

Additional accents:  Toho 15/0 seed beads in Silver Lined Crystal (used for beading)

day72017

 

Week One Summary:

I decided to make a day and night scene after I had completed two rows of chain stitch.  The rows reminded me of earth and grass, so after that, day and night seemed to flow.  I tried to make birds and stars in the day and night sky after adding the sun and moon.  I realized after about four days, I will likely need a second hoop, since I now realize that 365 days of stitches will take up a lot of room unless I scale back.  Here is the completed week one.

week12017

 

Please let me know if you have any questions, I will try my best to respond.

Leave a Reply

